I never thought I’d need to ring a suicide helpline

Fake Tan and Foundation

Everyday in my day job I signpost people to mental health support services. I know the mantra- Asking for help is a sign of strength not weakness, there is no shame in reaching out for help, don’t suffer in silence. Talk. Talk to anyone, it doesn’t matter who, but whatever you do, do not keep things to yourself.

I know all these things, they roll off my tongue automatically. So why do I find it so hard to apply this to myself? Why can I not apply this to my own life? Why do I find it so hard to ask for help when I’m struggling?

Why do I when I dial a helpline do I feel so ashamed. So alone. Unable to confide in anyone as to how I really feel. Although I refer people to helplines such as Samaritans and Pieta House every day, little did I think that I…

View original post 238 more words

Leave a Reply

